Customer Service
Bookmark this page Print page Resize down Resize up

Nominate now for NSW Women of the Year Awards

To acknowledge and recognise the contributions of women across the State, the NSW Government is holding the 2012 NSW Women of the Year Awards.

The awards give the community an opportunity to recognise the important role and achievements of women in NSW, by nominating them for an award.

Perhaps you know a woman who has made a significant contribution to her local community - the quiet achiever, local hero or volunteer among us who you think should be recognised for her contribution.

Nominations can be submitted at until
Friday 23 March 2012.

Awards will be given in two categories:

  • Premier’s Woman of the Year – a woman who has demonstrated excellence in her career, field or passion; or an inspirational role model for women in NSW; or a significant achiever in a traditionally male area
  • People’s Choice - Community Hero – Local heroes and/or volunteers; or a quiet achiever who has made an outstanding contribution to her local community.

In choosing the recipients of the NSW Woman of the Year Awards, consideration will be given to the nominee's achievements in the year immediately prior to receiving the award, as well as their past achievements and ongoing contribution to the NSW community.

A panel of judges will be given the difficult task of choosing who is to be named the Premier’s NSW Woman of the Year. The panel will also select a shortlist of candidates for the People’s Choice – Community Hero award but it’s up to the community to decide who the winner will be.

The selection panel will be led by the Minister for Women and will include other high profile women and men who support the awards.

This year the community will not only be given the chance to nominate, but also to vote for the People’s Choice – Community Hero award recipient online at from 19 April 2012.

The NSW Women of the Year will be announced at a reception hosted by the NSW Premier in May 2012 at Parliament House.

For more information visit

The awards are coordinated by the Office for Women’s Policy.

back to top